Sunday, 11/3/19

Meb says everyone should run at least one marathon

Don ran his annual 10 trail race. Results. Elevation gain is 2070 feet. About 16 minutes slower than last year. Two reasons. 1. Seriously older. 2. Went almost a mile off coarse following others younger and dumber. OK, maybe not all dumber since I’ve done that race before.

Saturday, 11/2/19

NYT Links. We especially like Meet Memo, the Marie Kondo of Fitness.

Friday, 11/1/19

What’s so super about super foods? …When we moved to Eugene, there were six, somewhat aging blueberry plants. Now we have 27.

What would happen in an apocalyptic blackout? …Big Sis lives in Sonoma County. Her power was out four days. Her daughter, my niece, lives on a remote mountain in Sonoma County. Her power was out for nine days.

Thursday, 10/31/19

Get started. Keep going. Stop.

Meet the Eighty-Six-Year-Old Running the New York City Marathon

Wednesday, 10/30/19

A long life is a gift

Tuesday, 10/29/19

Why are Jamaicans the fastest runners in the world?

Monday, 10/28/19

Scientific American: 8 Ways to Get More Movement into Your Day

Sunday, 10/27/19

Civil service guy skips work for 6 years to study Spinoza.

Saturday, 10/26/19

NYT links. The story on daily drinking alcohol is especially interesting. I gave up alcohol on 12/31/18.

Wisdom in Your Pocket.
Regardless your religion, or lack thereof, Seneca and Cicero are terrific, easy to read. You can put them on your Kindle for free. I read those guys and Thoreau’s Walking (also free on Kindle) while running on the treadmill.

Ever wondered about James Joyce’s Ulysses? It’s a tough read, for sure. Try the movie. It’s very good. I last saw it in 1967. My lady says we will watch it tonight. She hasn’t seen it, but did read A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, and loved it.

Thursday, 10/24/19

From Florence, OR

Nike Oregon Project athletes working with coach Pete Julian will stay together

Max Scherzer update