Author Archive

Friday, 4/30/21

The reading list of philosopher John Stuart Mill, ages 3–7. …Here.

You/Don?

Monday, 4/26/21

Who is the world’s all time worst person/killer? Consider

Just finished The Private Life of Chairman Mao

Also excellent, Becoming Madame Mao …She was arrested and imprisoned after his death. After five years, with throat cancer, she was released. Lynched herself in the hospital.

Saturday, 4/17/21

Q&A with Malcolm Gladwell

Wednesday, 4/14/21

Des Linden Sets the 50K World Record …Obliterated the old, I’d say. Doing loops on the Dorena Lake trail near Eugene.

See Running World Records

Monday, 4/12/21

Are you a person, place or thing? …Read. If you can’t access, Google neopronoun. Nutty times.

Against alcohol

Saturday, 4/10/21

Fly Eugene to Hollywood-Burbank for $19. …Consider

Friday, 4/9/21

How to Hold on to Your Sprint Speed as You Age

Thursday, 4/8/21

Ryan Hall Now Deadlifts More Than 500 Pounds

Tuesday, 4/6/21

Loneliness is more than just a state. It’s an affliction, proven to cause or exacerbate a wide range of physical maladies, from obesity and heart disease to Alzheimer’s and other neurodegenerative diseases. Long-lasting loneliness can absolutely kill; as a risk factor for mortality, emotional isolation is statistically on par with smoking 15 cigarettes a day, making it even more dangerous than obesity. …Read

Saturday, 4/3/21

“Welcome to the five star resort,” said Oregon coach Robert Johnson.” …”“This is an experience, and they’ll remember this one for the rest of their lives,” Johnson said. “But wait until we have the real Hayward, when those people are here and you can’t hear yourself talking to the person right next to you because they’re going crazy and they’re celebrating. That’s the Hayward Field I remember, and that’s the Hayward Field that I want them to experience.” …More.